Majunga Tower, La Défense

The first tower in La Défense that blurs the boundary between workspaces and the city

Ten years after designing Cœur Défense, the challenge was to determine whether the development of a new tower could be based on a new type of architecture and technology. More specifically it was the challenge concerning the Majunga Tower. All the parameters of the tower’s composition have been revisited and re-invented:

– the location of the building along the historical axis of La Défense,
– The tower’s freedom of shape and its concept of distribution in space as well as the vertical succession of the floors,
– the design of the facades and their adaptation to the weather, sunshine, and temperatures by interposing a “breathing diaphragm” allowing controlled contact with the outside air and thus achieving minimal energy consumption (European Bream Award 2013: best building).

Each floor is different from each other, far from the monotonous repetition of the previous towers. This difference is enhanced by the natural light spread over the workspaces as well as the large size of the floors and the garden loggias located in the perspective of the elevator levels. The base of the tower overlooking the garden terraces allows for meetings, work, or lunch in exceptional conditions of comfort.

The artist Fabienne Verdier dresses the void of the tower’s hall with a custom-made monumental painting measuring 12 by 8 meters.

Architecte mandataire
VIGUIER architecture urbanisme paysage

Maître d’oeuvre d’exécution
Icade Arcoba

BET Façades
EPP France

BET Structures
Setec TPI

BET Fluides


Sterling Quest Associates


Aménagement intérieur
Saguez & Partners

Conseil sécurité
Cabinet Casso

BREEAM Excellent
Démarche HQE
BREEAM Awards 2012
Grand Prix Simi Immobilier 2014

Architecte directeur de projet
Andrès Larrain

Chef de projet
Edwige Caumont

Équipe projet
Julie Lavergne
Axel Kronborg
Alessia Zambon
Anne-Elisabeth Foirien
Thomas Ouanhnon
Frédérique Heisch
Ronan Malle
Aida Bensouda
Clément Devergie
Arthur Brigaud
Benoist Quiviger
Stéphanie Boufflet
Pierre Saunal
David Colinet
Anne Pestel
Fanny Laureau
Jean-François Dupuis
Stephen Lee
Gustavo Boscan
Landon Moore
Romain Viaut

Architecture paysagiste
Benjamin Doré
Massimiliano Stagno
Lionel Sikora